Supporting Families
  • banner4
  • banner6
  • banner13
  • banner7
  • banner9
  • banner11
  • banner10
  • banner2
  • banner3
  • banner8

Kent Special Schools and Units


 Update in Progress: April 2020

SEN Units: for background go to here 

Historical Note

KCC tried to phase out SEN Units in 2009-10, but after I exposed the policy whose existence was initially denied, this decision was reversed. You can read about this hereAs a direct result of the plan, ten SEN Units were closed. Ever since then the need for more Unit Provision has been recognised and acted on.  

There are also two satellites of Special Schools in mainstream schools, not technically units, at Dartford Primary Academy (ASD and Speech & Language), satellite of Milestone Special School and West Borough Primary, Maidstone (ASD), satellite of Bower Grove School.  

The list of SEN Units follows, the capacity of each for September 2019 is in brackets, followed by the pupil roll. 

SEN Units established since 2010 are listed as New

Some of the definitions, especially for secondary schools are approximate as some schools offer flexibility of intake. There is no admission number for Units. Each year new children can be admitted at any relevant age if there is space within the total capacity. Nearly all Units are full, with pressure on places.   

OFSTED Reports appear within the Report on the home school. 

Primary Phase

Autism (ASD): Ashford Oaks Primary (8,7), Cage Green Primary (31,30), Tonbridge; Langafel CEP (20,25), Longfield; Joy Lane Primary, Whitstable (30,30). 
New:Canterbury Primary (12,13); Kings Farm Primary, Gravesham (10,L); Langley Park Primary, Maidstone (11,8); Martello Grove, Folkestone (L,L); Oakfield Primary, Dartford (14,16); Valley Invicta Primary at Kings Hill (10,9).  Canterbury Academy Trust in collaboration with the National Autistic Society (NAS), Cullum Family Trust and Kent County Council (KCC) is establishing the Cullum Centre Specialist Resourced Provisions at The Canterbury Academy Trust Campus for 24 students with Autistic Spectrum Disorder (ASD) in September 2020. Kent County Council is proposing to create new Specialist Resourced Provisions for primary aged children with Autistic Spectrum Disorder (ASD) at Garlinge Primary School and Nursery for up to 16 children, and at at Holy Trinity and St John’s CEP School for up to 16 children. 

The designation of the existing Specialist Resource Provisions at Valley Invicta Primary Schools at Holborough Lakes and Leybourne are to change from Social Emotional and Mental Health needs (SEMH) to ASD (Autistic Spectrum Disorder). This is being proposed because both KCC and VIAT have found that the local need for placements for ASD is greater than for SEMH. KCC have identified that ASD is the fastest growing need type, and that, as a result, there is a greater need for ASD provisions. KCC have therefore requested that VIAT continue to extend and build on the existing expertise and provisions that we already have within the Trust to meet the local need for pupils with ASD.

Hearing Impairment (HI): Castle Hill Community Primary, Folkestone (5,10); Fleetdown Primary, Dartford (13,11); Molehill Copse Primary, Maidstone (L,L);  Slade Primary School, Tonbridge (5,10); 

Physical Disability (PD): Bishops Down Primary School, Tunbridge Wells (7,6); Tymberwood Academy, Gravesend (L,5); Garlinge Primary School, Margate (L,L). 

Severe and/or profound multiple special educational needs (SPD): Whitfield and Aspen, Dover  (112,113).

Social, Emotional & Mental Health: 
New: Finberry, Ashford ((8,L); Holborough Lakes (5,5) and Leybourne Chase (L,5), both Malling; and Thistle Hill, Sheppey (8,L).  
Speech & Language (SLCN): ; The Oaks Community Infant school (12,12), Sittingbourne; John Wallis Academy, Ashford(L,L); West Malling CEP Primary school(18,20); Hythe Bay CEP school (18,20); Wincheap Foundation Primary School, Canterbury (20,20).  
NewCherry Orchard Primary (12,10); John Wesley CofE Methodist (6,L); River Primary, Dover (12,8); Temple Hill Primary (L,L); West Minster Primary, Sheppey (15,15).

Visual Impairment (VI): Morehall Primary School, Folkestone (L,L); Reculver CEP school (7,12).

Secondary Phase

Autism: Abbey School (30,45); North School (25,28); Holmesdale Technology College (6,5); Longfield Academy (36,39); Malling School (and Speech and Language) (80,101); Meopham School (15,18); Simon Langton Grammar School for Boys (23,18). 
New: High Christie (22,19); Judd School (5,L); Marsh Academy (12,8); St Augustine Academy (12,13); Orchards Academy (15,L); St Anselm's' RC (8,5);  Wilmington Academy (10,11); 

Hearing Impairment: Hartsdown Technology College, Margate (L,6); Leigh Academy (L,L);  Sittingbourne Academy (25,21); St Gregory’s Tunbridge Wells (9,5).  

Physical Disability: Thamesview School, Gravesend (6,8); Westlands School, Sittingbourne (shared with SLD, 6,10); St Anselm's Catholic School, Canterbury (10,9); New Line Learning Academy, Maidstone (0,L).  

Speech & Language: Canterbury High School (25,21);  Goodwin Academy (and SPLD) (13,14);Sittingbourne Academy (30,48). 
New: Leigh Academy (10,10)

Specific Learning Difficulties:  Archbishop's School, Canterbury (and other aspects, 12,13,0); Westlands School, Sittingbourne (39,39,1); 

Visual Impairment: Archbishop’s School, Canterbury (21,3,0); Charles Dickens, Thanet (6,3,0).

Enhanced Specialist Teaching Arrangement: Bromstone Primary (16,23), Thanet  

Two schools have closed their SEN Units in the past few years: Nonington Primary, Canterbury, and Sunny Bank Primary Sittingbourne. Probably not by coincidence, both struggling schools that may have other priorities, or problems in attracting children.  

« Prev Next

Last modified on Sunday, 26 July 2020 17:35
More in this category: Medway Special Schools & Units »